The Thrill of Adventure

Many moons ago, I was approached about a job at Expedia. At the time, Expedia = travel and adventure in my mind so I was immediately interested. I’ve made it my business to put my (now) three passports to good use and I have lived, worked and traveled all over the world. I’m lucky.

In the interview, I described to the interviewer how I would get excited as my family approached the Halifax airport on our annual trip to England. I would recognize the turn-off, get a faint whiff of airplane exhaust and well, then my parents had to put up with me for the next 12 hours bouncing off the ceiling. Long story short, I got the job.

The thing is…at that time, working at Expedia wasn’t at all about travel and adventure. It was running a website, navigating all kinds of toxic inter-company politics and staying focused on a sales numbers. Its not to say that I didn’t enjoy working there – I always take pride in and enjoy building teams, the business, etc – but it wasn’t what I had hoped for.

This week, I reconnected with a friend and former colleague who has ended up working in a “genuine” travel company, full of adventure and of course business challenges. There’s a hint of possibility there and I’m surprised to feel myself getting excited. It’s nowhere near a sure thing and there are a million and one variables before a conversation might even begin but it feels so good to be genuinely excited about a brand and company who is doing very cool things.

I’ll keep you posted…

One thought on “The Thrill of Adventure

  1. Good luck with that Jason. I too remember how optimistic I felt about joining Expedia, and then its ups and downs. Some great ups, but in the end, disappointing. I know this one will be better for you!

Leave a Reply

